Enter your keyword

IAS 2018 Exam Notification

                                     IAS Exam 2018 Notification

UPSC Civil Service Exam Syllabus:

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) Civil Services Exam Syllabus is divided into three categories, namely



  1. Interview

Candidates, who emerge successful in the Preliminary and Main examination, can appear for the interview.

Stage I: Prelims:

The Preliminary syllabus is mainly designed to assess a candidate’s comprehension of current affairs and aptitude within the stipulated time. The preliminary paper is a compulsory and qualifying paper.
UPSC Civil Services Syllabus for prelims exam mainly consists of 2 papers, Paper 1&2. The topics that are covered in these 2 papers are enclosed below.


UPSC Prelims Exam Papers












Paper I – General Studies


      3 Hours






Paper II – Aptitude


      2 Hours










Paper 1: 

General Studies: It is qualifying paper to write the mains exam

S.No                                    Paper



Current Event of National and International importance.




History of India and Indian National Movement




Indian and world Geography




Indian Polity and  Governance




Economic and Social Development




General Science

Paper 2:

Aptitude: This paper is of qualifying nature, but candidate must score at least 33% marks in this paper and marks of this paper are not counted for writing the Mains examination.

S.No                                Paper







Interpersonal skills including communication skills




Logical Reasoning and Analytical ability




Decision-making and problem-solving




General Mental Ability




English language comprehension skill

Stage II: Mains

The Mains syllabus is basically designed to judge a candidate’s academic expertise in his/her specialised subject. The syllabus also focuses on testing aspirants’ ability to present knowledge in a clear and coherent manner. The main examination has 9 papers and the syllabus is designed according to the subjects specified. The Preliminary and Mains syllabus is designed for written test.

UPSC Civil services syllabus for Mains Exam mainly consists of 5 papers, Paper 1 to 5. The topics that are covered in these 2 papers are enclosed below. And Paper 6, 7 are the optional subject syllabus.

The nature and standard of questions in the General Studies papers (Paper II to Paper V) will be such that a well-educated person will be able to answer them without any specialized study.

Qualifying Papers (Non-Ranking)
Paper A One of the Indian Language to be selected by the candidate from the languages included in the Eight Schedule to the Constitution. 300 Marks
Paper B             English 300 Marks
Papers to be Counted for Merit (Ranking)
Paper I Essay 250 Marks
Paper II General Studies I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) 250 Marks
Paper III General Studies II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) 250 Marks
Paper IV General Studies III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) 250 Marks
Paper V General Studies IV ( Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) 250 Marks
Paper VI Optional Subject- Paper 1 250 Marks
Paper VII Optional Subject- Paper 2 250 Marks
For the optional papers in the Main Examination, UPSC has a list of about twenty-six subjects out of which any one subject has to be selected by the candidate.
Subtotal (Written Test) 1750 Marks
Personality Test (Interview) 275 Marks
Grand Total 2025 Marks


IAS Exam 2018 Notification      IAS 2018 Exam Details Online Application