Have a question?
Message sent Close



The Civil services examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India. The Government of India has announced a new pattern of examination to sort out candidates for the Indian Civil Services main examination.From Civil Service Examination 2011, Preliminary Examination would consist of two papers – Paper I and Paper II.

CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) has two papers:

1. General Studies
2. General Ability Test
The syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination would be as under

CSAT General Studies Paper 1 Syllabus

CSAT Paper 1 (200 marks)
Duration : Two hrs, Number of Questions: 100

CSAT General Ability Test Paper 2 Syllabus

CSAT Paper II (200 marks)
Duration : Two hrs, Number of Questions: 80

Marking Scheme

Total 80 questions have 200 marks, thus each question is of 2.5 marks. There is a negative marking of 33% or 1/3rd of allotted marks in both papers. Decision making section doesn’t have any negative marking

UPSC Preliminary Civil Services Examination 2017 will commence on 18th June 2017 and Main Examination on Oct 28th 2017

The Top IAS Coaching for UPSC Exams, Indian Civil Services Exams & Other Competitive Exams in India. Call us today 080-42108426 for IAS Exam preparation. Courtesy : Union Public Service Commission – UPSC

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds