Have a question?
Message sent Close



31st December 2021

 No. Topic Name Prelims/Mains
1.    About the Smile Scheme Prelims & Mains
2.    Details of the Chief Election Commissioner Prelims & Mains
3.    About the Ganga Sagar Mela Prelims & Mains
4.    About the Sahitya Akademy Awards Prelims Specific
5.    Details of the Indian Pangolin Prelims Specific




Topic – Government Policies and interventions for the vulnerable section of the population

  • Context:
  • This program for Support for Marginalized Individuals was developed by the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.
  • The plan is as follows:
  • “Support for Marginalized Individuals for Livelihood and Enterprise” is the acronym for “Support for Marginalized Individuals for Livelihood and Enterprise.”
  • The scheme focuses on rehabilitation, medical care, counseling, basic paperwork, education, skill development, and economic relations, among other things.
  • The ‘Central Sector Scheme for Comprehensive Rehabilitation of Persons Engaged in the Act of Begging’ is one of the sub-schemes.
  • State/UT governments/Local Urban Bodies, Voluntary Organizations, Community Based Organizations (CBOs), institutions, and others will all help to implement the system.
  • India’s Beggars:
  • According to the 2011 Census, India’s total number of beggars is 4,13,670 (including 2,21,673 males and 1,91,997 females), up from the previous census.
  • West Bengal is at the top of the list, followed by Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, which are ranked second and third, respectively. According to the 2011 census, Lakshadweep has only two vagrants.
  • New Delhi has the most beggars (2187) among the union territories, followed by Chandigarh with 121.
  • Asam topped the list of north eastern states with 22,116 beggars, while Mizoram came in last with 53.
  • Source – The Hindu – 31/12/21 – Page Number 8



Topic – Election related issues

  • About the ECI:
  • The ECI was founded with only one election commissioner, but after the Election Commissioner Amendment Act of 1989, it was expanded to a multi-member body.
  • The Election Commission will be made up of the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and as many other election commissioners as the President deems necessary.
  • It is currently made up of the CEC and two Election Commissioners.
  • The Chief Electoral Officer, who is an IAS rank officer, assists the electoral commission at the state level.
  • Commissioners’ Appointment and Tenure:
  • CEC and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President.
  • They have a fixed term of six years, or until they reach the age of 65, whichever comes first.
  • They have the same status as judges of India’s Supreme Court (SC) and get the same salaries and benefits.
  • Removal:
  • They have the option to resign at any moment or be removed before the end of their term.
  • The CEC can only be removed from office through a procedure identical to that used to remove a Supreme Court judge by Parliament.
  • Removal Procedure:
  • High Court judges, the SC, the CEC, and the Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) can all be removed from office by a resolution passed by Parliament based on “proven misbehaviour or incapacity.”
  • A special majority of 2/3rds of the members present and voting supported by more than 50% of the overall strength of the house is required for removal.
  • The term “impeachment” is not used in the Constitution to describe the process of removing judges, CAGs, and CECs.
  • The term “Impeachment” is only used to remove the President, and it requires a special majority of 2/3rds of the total strength of both houses.
  • Source – The Hindu – 31/12/21 – Page Number 1



Topic – Indian Culture

  • About the Ganga Sagar Mela:
  • The Ganga Sagar Mela, one of the country’s largest religious celebrations, which attracts tens of thousands of pilgrims, is getting a makeover this year.
  • The West Bengal government has taken many steps to ensure that pilgrims have easy access to amenities such as cleanliness, police and administrative assistance, and transportation information.
  • The district administration would give different facilities, like as bathrooms, to pilgrims attending the annual fair on Sagar Island, one of the cluster of islands in the South 24 Parganas district.
  • This year, the state government intends to designate the Ganga Sagar Mela as a Green Mela. The six-day fair will begin soon.
  • The Ganga Sagar Mela is an annual event that takes place in Ganga Sagar, India.
  • It takes place on the Ganga Sagar Island, at the mouth of the Hooghly River in Bengal, every year in the months of January and February.
  • Every year, hundreds of pilgrims flock to the site. During the Gangasagar Mela, a dip in the river at this location is regarded exceedingly sacred.
  • The bath is considered to become a divine source of salvation on Makar Sankranti (January 14), when the sun transitions from Sagittarius to Capricorn.
  • Source – The Hindu – 31/12/21 – Page Number 1


Prelims Specific Topic:

  • The Sahitya Akademi Award, which was created in 1954, is a literary honor bestowed annually by India’s National Academy of Letters, Sahitya Akademi.
  • Every year, the Akademi bestows 24 awards for literary works written in the languages it recognizes, as well as an equal number of honors on literary translations from and into Indian languages.
  • The Sahitya Akademi has recognized English and Rajasthani as languages in which its curriculum can be executed, in addition to the 22 languages listed in the Indian Constitution.
  • After the Jnanpith prize, the Sahitya Akademi award is the second highest literary honor bestowed by the Indian government.
  • Awardee Selection Criteria:
  • The author must have Indian ancestry.
  • A book or work that is eligible for the award must make a significant contribution to the language and literature of the genre.
  • When two or more works have similar worth, specific factors such as total literary contribution and author standing will be considered when an award is announced.
  • Source – The Hindu – 31/12/21 – Page Number 10


Prelims Specific Topic:

  • About the India’s Pangolins:
  • The Indian Pangolin (Manis crassicaudata) and the Chinese Pangolin (Manis pentadactyla) are two of the eight pangolin species found in India.
  • A huge anteater with 11-13 rows of scales on its back, the Indian Pangolin is a giant anteater. The Indian Pangolin also has a terminal scale on the lower side of its tail, which the Chinese Pangolin lacks.
  • The Indian Pangolin is found across India, with the exception of the desert regions, the high Himalayas, and the north-east. Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka are also home to the species.
  • Pangolins can be found in the Himalayan foothills of Eastern Nepal, Bhutan, Northern India, North-East Bangladesh, and Southern China.
  • Hunting and poaching for local consumption (e.g., as a protein source and traditional medicine) as well as international trade for its flesh and scales in East and South East Asian countries, mainly China and Vietnam, pose threats to pangolins in India.
  • Protection Status:
  • They are are Critically Endangered.
  • They are protected under the Wildlife (Protection) Act of 1972, Schedule I.
  • Source – The Hindu – 31/12/21 – Page Number 1

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds

This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience. We are committed to protecting your privacy and ensuring your data is handled in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).